A Mom’s Guide: Baby Registry Must Haves!

It was SO overwhelming when I registered for my baby shower. I wanted to make sure I added everything I needed, rather than small unnecessary items. But how do you know what you need? How many blankets should a baby have? What is the difference between receiving blankets and swaddle blankets? Sometimes registering can be more stressful than fun.

I decided to create this guide to help new moms know what should go on their registry.

I would advise to anyone that is going to register to do some online research before heading to the store so you have in mind what you want to add!

  1. Infant Carseat & Carseat base, Convertible carseat and Stroller

It is so important to look up reviews of carseats and strollers before you register for one. Most stores will allow you take a seat to your car to make sure it fits, so take advantage! Madelyn’s infant carseat is discontinued, but Safety 1st onBoard Plus Infant Car Seat – St Germaine is the newest version of it. The Safety 1st stroller I use is also discontinued, but click here for other options!

Madelyn is currently using the Graco MySize™ 65 Convertible Car Seat and I love it! It fits perfectly into my Jeep Liberty. 

Here are some questions to consider when deciding on a car seat and stroller:

  • What is the height and weight limit on the seat? (Will it last until my baby is one?)
  • Will the seat fit my newborn baby? (Check shoulder slots)
  • Does the seat need a base, or can it be used with a seatbelt install?
  • Does my infant carseat have a compatible stroller that it will click into?
  • When will my baby fit into the convertible carseat?

Check out Carseats for the Littles to find a seat perfect for you and your baby.

2. Breast pump (and accessories) OR formula

I breastfed and pumped for 8 months. I swear by the Medela Pump In Style Advanced Breast Pump – On-the-Go Tote. I was pumping 13 times a day for 4 months and it worked perfectly every time!

Here is a list of accessories that should go with your pump:

3. Receiving blankets OR swaddle blankets 

I personally just stuck with two packs of receiving blankets. I used Carter’s Pink Cheeta 4 Pack Flannel Receiving Blankets.

4. Crib & Mattress 

Use your preference when shopping for a crib and mattress! I decided on the Sealy Signature Brilliant Nights 2-Stage Crib and Toddler Mattress.

5. Bedding set 

There are so many adorable options! I am obsessed with Madelyn’s CoCaLo Daniella 9-Piece Crib Bedding Set. It is beautiful.

Here are some extra items that should go along with bedding:

6. Pac n Play (Portable Crib)

If you think you might travel or stay over night at grandma’s, pac n plays are perfect. They are nice to have even if you don’t think you will use it. I find a lot of parents have extras they are trying to get rid of, so ask around!

Make sure you get extra Pac n Play sheets!

7. Swing

The swing is the greatest invention ever. Literally. I wouldn’t have gotten through the first 6 months without it! I had the 4moms MamaRoo Infant Seat – Silver Plush (with the infant insert) but I found Madelyn liked the back and forth motion better than side to side. The MamaRoo was great, but it also has a reputation of the battery breaking. Luckily it did not happen to me, but I definitely recommend purchasing the warranty that is offered with it!

8. High chair

I don’t think this needs much of an explanation because a baby needs a place to get messy while learning to eat!

9. Boppy 

I constantly used the Boppy. It helped with nursing, holding Madelyn and propping her up. Don’t forget to get a cover for it if it does not already come with one!

10. Onesies

I was crazy when it came to onesies. Madelyn had one under her outfits for the first 6 months of life. She was born in October, so I faithfully used the long sleeve ones since it was cold. I had about 10 in each size!

11. Baby book

You want to record all of your baby’s first moments!

12. Thermometer

Hopefully you won’t have to use one for a while but it come in handy when you think your baby is getting sick. I have the Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer, but I know a lot of doctors recommend the traditional rectal ones. The temporal thermometer has worked fine for me!

13. Cloth diapers (as burp cloths!!!!)

This is the BEST secret my mom told me about. Most burp cloths are very thin and spit up soaks right through it, so you find yourself constantly needing a new one. Cloth diapers will soak up anything and they are big enough to make sure nothing gets on your shoulder!

14. Diapers and Wipes

I was so nervous buying diapers since there are so many kinds. I wanted to pick the best one, and ended up using Pampers Swaddlers. I used Huggies and Luvs along the way, but Pampers were my favorite. I now use Pampers Cruisers since Madelyn is running around!

I’ve always used Huggies wipes because they are thicker than Pampers.

15. Bath tub and towels 

I used a standard tub for Madelyn, but I recommend using thick towels. I definitely think it is worth the money in this aspect, because thin towels will get you soaking wet and barely help dry off the baby.

I use the Disney Minnie Mouse and Disney Princess towels! Madelyn is now 17 months and I am still able to use them.

Nice to have:

Dreft – I wanted something soft to wash Madelyn’s clothes in just incase she had sensitive skin. I now have an attachment with the smell because it reminds me of my little newborn! I still use it and it keeps Madelyn’s clothes fresh and looking like new.

Travel sleep sheep – This was great for blocking out noise if we were out or had people over!

JJ Cole Car Seat Cover – Make sure it is a cover that goes over the seat! Do not get one that goes outside and in-between the straps. (those are not safe)

Floppy Seat Ultra Plush Shopping Cart & High Chair Cover – Midnight Chevron – This is the exact style Madelyn has! It is so soft and gives me a piece of mind when Madelyn is sitting in a germ-filled shopping cart.

Fisher-Price SpaceSaver High Chair – Petal Pink – This isn’t the exact style, but it is the brand that I have! It is convenient when we are at a family party because it gives Madelyn a place to sit and eat.

Humidifier – I am not sure how well these work, but it is nice to have when Madelyn sounds congested because it gives me a small piece of mind!

There is so much information in this post! I know it is overwhelming, but have fun on your register day. I am going to be adding more items as I think of them so feel free to comment some of your favorite items below!

Feature image taken by Jessica Merz

Leave a comment